Book Reviews

Book Reviews
0 Reviewer
9.7 Users (20 votes)
Summary
Home Away From Home is a beautifully crafted, thoughtful and candid story about Chiluba Musonda’s journey from Africa to the United States. As an international student from the nation of Zambia, Chiluba has to leave everything that is known and comfortable behind to embark on a journey to study abroad.

Pursuing a college education in the United States as an international student can be a very challenging process as it requires top grades, an intense visa interview and a lot of money—much more than an American student would need. This puts a variety of strains on the families of international students: emotional, financial, and loneliness. The same holds true for the students.

In this personal but fascinating memoir, Chiluba Musonda chronicles his life coming to America to pursue a college education at the University of Missouri—Kansas City. Imagine being delayed because there wasn’t enough fuel at the Zambian airport to make the flight so the plane had to land in the next country to fully fuel. Imagine coming from a tropical country and arriving just in time for a snow storm—something read about but never experienced, especially in a t-shirt. These are typical stories scattered throughout this book. Chiluba also explains how he mastered the American scholarship and grant systems. Finally he explains how he discovered himself and a purpose in life.
What people say... 20 Leave your rating
Inspirational and insightful, a page turner
Starting Home Away From Home, I was reading aloud every line to my spouse, it was so fascinating, humorous... My spouse agreed; so, we read it aloud together. It is a book of managing our expectations. In his common story of a college student coming of age, Chiluba reveals that his 2 cultures have surprisingly similar, classic conflicts. Our expectations are strikingly different from the subtle differences that make us and our cultures unique, beautiful, intriguing, challenging, each a Home Away From Home.
June 7, 2016, 4:46 am
Reading9.5
Overall9.5
0
2
Fascinating
"Home Away from Home" is an inspiring work. Reading the experiences of an international student was simply fascinating. The book is well written, very detailed and extremely informative. As an international student, it allowed me to personally identify with some of the interesting experiences the author had during his time in the United States. This book also allowed me to see the international student experience from a different and extremely interesting angle.
May 7, 2016, 6:56 am
Reading10
Overall9.5
0
2
Recommended to all audiences
Home Away From Home is an interesting and easy read, and you'll learn things you didn't know before. You get a look into Zambia, a country many Americans are not familiar with, as well as a new perspective on America, the Midwest, and specifically Kansas City. I definitely recommend Home Away From Home for any audience.
April 21, 2016, 2:28 pm
Reading8.5
Overall10
0
2
An honest and powerful read
A lovely and honest piece of work Mr Chiluba. The book explores various issues that international students face whilst they study abroad. It also gives a detailed account of how one requires to put in hard work due to the sacrifices parents make just to ensure you get well educated. The flow of the book is well arranged and the usage of grammar and writing skills is nothing but top class.Indeed its a written piece that will forever be inspiring to the reader.Great work once again and hats off to the author.
February 16, 2016, 7:14 am
Reading9
Overall9
0
3
Exciting and informative read!
This book is a great read that gave me a better understanding of what challenges international students are faced with when coming to study in America. The story is relatable for everyone and I took some important lessons away from reading it. The writing is exciting and honest, I would recommend picking up this book to anyone looking to gain a new perspective while enjoying a great story.
November 3, 2015, 12:35 am
Reading9.5
Overall9
0
2
Offers International Perspective
Home Away From Home offers the perspective of an international student. The book shares Chiluba's experiences, things that traditional students would never face but also relatable experiences for many college students. The book was an easy read with a casual tone. I would recommend Home Away From Home to anybody interested in opening their eyes to a different perspective or relating to their own.
October 25, 2015, 1:03 am
Reading10
Overall10
0
2
A powerful and inspirational story written with unparalleled guile and honesty
This is an exceptional work of art by an exceptional young man. Chiluba does a magnificent job of giving the reader a front row seat to the journey that is his life. He leaves no stone unturned and his honesty, bravery and tactful writing skills shine through. The challenges and adversity illustrated in this book and the ability to overcome them can serve as inspiration to many.
October 24, 2015, 7:16 pm
Reading9
Overall9
0
2
The fact behind the struggles of many international students
Home Away from home is a must read and is not a fantasy book. I call it a documentary book that walks the reader through the reality of what most international students go through. The narration of the book makes the reader see the life from the author’s (Chiluba Musonda) view point. This book opens the doors to the real struggles of international students’ lives that many may not be aware of. This memoir is not only talking about the author’s experience, but also it depicts the facts, and ups and downs of the lives of many international students who fight the hardships for a better and brighter future. Though “Home Away from Home” at one moment makes you feel very sad and the moment after it makes you feel happy, it is a very inspiring and encouraging book about the reality of life of an international student. As you read the book you feel the loneliness, fears, bravery, happiness and all the feelings that Chiluba Musonda as an international student went through. As an international student, reading this book helped me out a lot by inspiring me and giving me hope at the time that I needed some inspiration to keep moving on. Not very often will you read a book like Home Away from Home in which the author expresses his own life experiences in details to open the eyes of the reader about the truth behind the curtains of most of international students that not many have thought about. I strongly recommend it to everyone. Not only international students but everyone. After reading Home Away from home you will understand that nothing is impossible as long as you don’t give up. When I put the book down I truly believed that there is always hope even if no one can see it.
October 21, 2015, 11:07 pm
Reading10
Overall10
0
2
Provocative Story
One of the most insightful books I've ever read. It narrarates the capacity to overcome life's greatest challenges with faith, providence, and family. Chiluba guides the reader through a powerful journey from a boy's pride to a man's humility.
October 21, 2015, 10:37 pm
Reading9
Overall10
0
2
The go-to read for anyone contemplating international studies.
A very open retelling of challenges met and conquered. Not the great American novel, but a terrific insight into the pitfalls, headaches and rewards many international students face as they strive for success away from familiarity and loved ones.
October 20, 2015, 5:37 pm
Reading9
Overall10
0
3
Exhilarating Read
Reading this book allows the reader to immerse himself in the life of the author. The book portrays an unparalleled story by delivering messages of self recognition and triumph. While reading this book, I was able to fully understand and appreciate the author's life and his integration into America. I would suggest this book to anyone who is searching for a novel that is both realistic and inspiring. The author's story will captivate any reader by connecting on a very personal level no matter what experiences the reader has had. By telling a realistic story and holding nothing back, the author details an accurate experience of integration into a new world and the process of self recognition. This realistic writing style is what draws in the reader and forges an immediate connection with the author's story. This book is a very exciting read and truly reinvigorating.
October 19, 2015, 2:06 pm
Reading10
Overall10
0
3
Profound...
This book not only covers what happened, but every step of the way gives a vivid picture of how the story teller felt at that point in time. It's almost like you take a journey back into his life; you walk in his shoes and are afraid of what he feared. You experience his ignorance at certain points in his life; and join him in figuring those things out. Most importantly, you overcome what he overcomes, and celebrate what he celebrates. I am glad I read this book.
October 17, 2015, 12:48 am
Reading9
Overall9
0
2
Truly an amazing book
"Home Away From Home" is truly an inspiring book to read if you ever get the chance. Not only does it give good insight and life lessons to those who are yearning for it, but it's written with clarity and appealing emotion. Not often do you read a book and really feel the emotion depicted in an experience that happened in the book. I also felt that I could relate to some similar experiences that have happened to me. Also, once you start engaging within the story, it's difficult to put the book down because of how it really draws you in and lets you understand how we take things for granted sometimes. College is a great time for students to self reflect and get a real understanding of what's going in their life. But, not many students do this because they don't have the right guidance or an example they can look at to help them with this. Regarding that, "Home Away From Home" will allow any individual struggling to find their self-identity through the stories depicted and the appealing emotion. I would recommend this book to anyone.
October 14, 2015, 11:03 pm
Reading10
Overall10
0
3
Inspired
Home away from Home is really an inspiring story to all young Africans aspiring to study abroad. It entails the many challenges one may go through emotionally and also encourages one to have the will to go on. It has really taught me on so many levels to always appreciate and respect the effort that our parents put in to develop our future. The many temptations one may face in a foreign and developed nation are abundant but focusing on your goals keeps you in line. Its a brilliant read, way to go "Mr Chasez" (Chiluba Musonda)
P.S the overall 9 is for only mentioning me once lol.
October 13, 2015, 11:43 am
Reading10
Overall9
0
2
Inspirational Journey
Very seldom do you come across a piece of writing that captures so much emotion and information all the while being relatable. Such is the uniquness of Chiluba's "Home away from Home". In this memoir Chiluba effortlessly toes the line between informative and descrptive with such guile that it makes "Home away from Home", such an easy and enjoayble read. I eagerly look forward to his next publication.
October 13, 2015, 11:39 am
Reading10
Overall10
0
2
An inspiration
Home Away From Home is truly a superb reading. Being able to see how life was for Chiluba as an international student and the various trials he went through made the book a page turner. Reading this book, I also felt like I could relate to some of the experiences he had which made the book all the more better. He not only speaks on his journey to America but he also touches on the crucial subject of racism in America. After I read this book, it left me feeling inspired to become a better person and so I strongly encourage anyone and everyone to read this book. Once you pick it up you will not be able to put it back down and this book will not disappoint you.
October 12, 2015, 4:28 pm
Reading10
Overall10
0
2
Loved it!
found this book very interesting to see america in a different perspective. i highly suggest you to read this amazing book.
October 12, 2015, 2:16 pm
Reading10
Overall10
0
2
A great read
As a teen, I enjoyed learning about Chiluba's experience of going to college abroad. It inspired me to consider doing the same.
October 11, 2015, 6:40 pm
Reading10
Overall10
0
4
A rare honest view
Home Away from Home is an honest view of America and Americans through the eyes of a foreigner. Home Away from Home, let's one peek between the tightly knitted threads of racism in America, without exploiting the issue. One young man's journey, not only physically, but emotionally, leaves the reader in admiration of his perseverance. The book should be a "must read" for American born minority teen boys. There was one editorial error, something like there instead of their. I can't remember now, it was noticeable but not detracting. We were so interested in the story itself that it was easily overlooked. I highly recommend this book to everyone I know. Our daughter found it on Amazon! Hopefully, there is a kindle edition, since that's how young people read these days.
October 11, 2015, 10:35 am
Reading10
Overall10
0
4
Excellent Book
Home Away From Home delivers an entertaining account of the author's life experiences as an international student. The book is filled with many inspirational stories and great for anyone to read. I really enjoyed reading Home Away From Home because I truly felt that I was connected to each story as if I was with him throughout his journey as an international student.
October 10, 2015, 3:44 am
Reading9
Overall10
0
5
Show more
Leave your rating

7

6

5

10

11

9

1

8

4

3

2